The about our party cannot be hidden...We are making phenomenal progress

Tinubu Renames Airports After Buhari, Usman Dan Fodio, Awolowo, Others

The President Bola Tinubu-led Federal Government has renamed some federal airports after several notable Nigerians.


This is according to a memo by the Federal Ministry of Aviation dated June 1, 2023, and signed by Mrs Joke Olatunji for the Director of Airport Operations.


The statement made available to the Newsmen on Monday noted that the President renamed the airports “as part of reforms of the Aviation sector”.


The Maiduguri Airport was renamed after the immediate past President Muhammadu Buhari and the Port Harcourt Airport after the late nationalist Obafemi Awolowo, while the Nasarawa Airport immortalised the late founder of the Sokoto Caliphate, Usman Dan Fodio.



Also, the Benin Airport was renamed after the late Oba of Benin, Oba Akenzua II, Ebonyi Airport after the late Senate President Chuba Okadigbo, and the Ibadan Airport after the late Premier of the old Western Region, Ladoke Akintola.


See the full list below:

1. Akure Airport – Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu


2. Benin Airport – Oba Akenzua II


3. Dutse Airport – Muhammad Nuhu Sanusi


4. Ebonyi Airport – Chuba Wilberforce Okadigbo


5. Gombe Airport – Brigadier Zakari Maimalari


6. Ibadan Airport – Samuel Ladoke Akintola


7. Ilorin Airport – Gen. Tunde Idiagbon


8. Kaduna Airport – Hassan Usman Katsina


9. Maiduguri Airport – Gen. Mumammadu Buhari


10. Makurdi Airport – Joseph Sarwuan Tarka


11. Minna Airpor – Mallam Abubakar Imam


12. Nassarawa Airport – Sheikh Usman Dan Fodio


13. Osubi Airport – Alfred Diete Spiff


14. Port Harcourt Airport – Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo


15. Yola Airport – Lamido Aliyu Mustapha








Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More