The about our party cannot be hidden...We are making phenomenal progress


Ogun is a state in southwestern Nigeria. Created in 1976, it borders Lagos State to the south, Oyo and Osun states to the north, Ondo to the east and the Republic of Benin to the west. Abeokuta is the capital and largest city in the state. The state’s appellation is “Gateway to Nigeria”. It was created in February 1976 from the former Western State. The 2006 census recorded a total population of 3,751,140 residents.

NICKNAME(s): Gateway State

COUNTRY: Nigeria

DATE CREATED: 3rd February 1976

CAPITAL: Abeokuta


Gov. Dapo Abiodun

 Governor: Dapo Abiodun (APC)

Deputy Governor: Noimot Salako-Oyedele


  • Tolu Odebiyi
  • Ibikunle Amosun
  • Lekan Mustapha

Ogun state consists of twenty local government areas. They are:

Abeokuta North

Abeokuta South




Ijebu East

Ijebu North

Ijebu North East

Ijebu Ode


Imeko Afon


Obafemi Owode



Ogun Waterside

Remo North



Yewa North

(formerly Egbado North)

Yewa South

(formerly Egbado South)


Ogun state has three federal secondary schools;

  • Federal Government Girls’ College, Sagamu
  • Federal Government College, Odogbolu
  • Federal Science and Technical College, Ijebu-Imushin.

Federal University/Institutions:

  • Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)
  • Federal college of education, FCE Osiele (both at Odeda Local government area),
  • State Government College of Education, named after the late Nigerian educationist of international repute Augustus Taiwo Solarin in 1994 as Tai Solarin College of Education (TASCE), (formerly known as Ogun State College of Education, Ijagun, Ijebu-Ode,
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro,
  • State Government polytechnic named after late Nigerian business mogul and winner of June 12, 1993 election, Basorun Moshood Kasimawo Olawale Abiola as Moshood Abiola Polytechnic (MAPOLY), formerly known as Ogun State Polytechnic, Ojere, Abeokuta,
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye (formerly known as Ogun State University),
  • Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED) Ijebu Ode.

Ogun State has a total of nine registered universities, the highest of any state in Nigeria. It has five private universities. Amongst others are:

  • Chrisland University, Abeokuta
  • Bells University of Technology in Ota
  • Covenant University
  • Babcock University in Ilisan-Remo, which was the first private university in the country.

The state has two major Government Hospitals:

  • The Federal Medical Center at Abeokuta
  • Olabisi Onabanjo University Teaching Hospital in Sagamu.

The National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) Permanent Orientation Camp is located at Sagamu Local Government area of the state.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More